GBA rule of law action plan released

New education advisory head named

The Government today announced the appointment of Dieter Yih to succeed Gordon Tsui as Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC) chairman for two years from tomorrow.


Mr Yih is currently a member of the University Grants Committee, and is a former member of the Education Commission.


Welcoming the appointment, Secretary for Education Choi Yuk-lin noted that Mr Yih has been an active participant in educational affairs and expressed her confidence in him.  


“I am confident that under Mr Yih’s leadership and with members’ professional knowledge and experience, the committee will continue to provide valuable advice to the Government in relation to optimising the use of the Quality Education Fund for promoting quality education in Hong Kong, benefitting more students, parents, teachers and school administrative personnel.”


The Government also appointed four new members to the QEFSC, namely- Dr Susan Fan, Lee Yi-ying, James Li and Wong Yuk-hing.


Ms Choi also thanked the outgoing chairman, Mr Tsui, and outgoing members Stanley Choi, Joanne Fong and Lau Chun-hung, for their contributions during their tenures.